Who practices Chinese Herbal Medicine?

Licensed Acupuncturists in the State of California (L.Ac.) have passed the minimum educational and board testing requirements necessary to practice Chinese Herbal Medicine. There is an additional test which may be taken by the National Commission for the Certification of Acupuncturists and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM). There are two parts to this certification. The first is the acupuncture portion (Dipl.Ac.) and the second is the Chinese Herbal Medicine portion (Dipl. C.H.). These credentials also indicate that the National standards for Acupuncture and Chinese Herbology have been achieved. Health care providers without an education and licensing in Oriental Medicine are not necessarily qualified to practice Chinese Herbology or may be practicing herbal medicine from a different viewpoint. The requirements vary from state to state, the following is an explanation of credentials.

C.A. Certified Acupuncturist.
L.Ac. Licensed Acupuncturist.
D.O.M. Doctor of Oriental Medicine.
A.P. Acupuncture Physician.
Dipl.Ac. Diplomat of Acupuncture (NCCAOM) A National Certification required by 37 States.
Dipl.O.M. Diplomat in Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) A National Achievement Certification.
Dipl. C.H. Diplomat in Chinese Herbology (NCCAOM) A National Achievement Certification.